Don't you have an account with Pajhwok Afghan News?

Click here to subscribe.

T20 World Cup: Afghanistan placed in 2nd group

29 Jan 2019 - 13:17
29 Jan 2019 - 13:17


The ICC announced draws for the mega event in Sydney on Tuesday morning. In a first, T20 World Cups both for men and women will be held as standalone events in the same year.

In a statement, the cricket governing body said the Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 would take place from February 21 to March 8 2020. The final will be played at the MCG on March 8, International Women’s Day.

In the opener, hosts and defending champions Australia will take on India at Sydney Showground Stadium on February 21. The women’s tournament will also feature double-header semi-finals at SCG on March 5.

In the men’s edition, the tournament will start off with a week-long qualifying stage, following which the Super 12 group stage will get underway on October 24.

For the Super 12, Australia, Pakistan, West Indies, New Zealand and two qualifiers will make the first group. The second group will be composed of India, South Africa, England, Afghanistan and two qualifiers.

ICC chief executive David Richardson hoped Australia putting up a great show in hosting the two events. “Whenever we host an event in Australia, we know we can guarantee the one billion cricket fans around the world a great show…”

He praised Australian players, outstanding venues and passionate fans. “This is the perfect combination for a T20 World Cup and in 2020 we go one step further with two T20 World Cups in one year.”

PAN Monitor/mud

Hits: 0

Related Topics



Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.


Download our mobile application to get the latest updates on your mobile phone. Read more