Don't you have an account with Pajhwok Afghan News?

Click here to subscribe.

Mustafa Zahir sworn in as Meshrano Jirga member

19 Nov 2017 - 13:36
19 Nov 2017 - 13:36

KABUL on Sunday, while Haji Mahmod Khakrizwal was introduced as another member of the upper house.

Mustafa Zahir was introduced as presidential nominee for membership of the Meshrano Jirga for a five-year term on October 8. He replaces Essa Khan Shinwari.

Faisal Samay, deputy Meshrano Jirga chairman, introduced Mustafa Zahir to the house’s during today’s session.

Chairman Fazal Hadi Muslimyar administered loyalty oath to Zahir who formally started his duty today.

Under Article 84 of the Constitution, one member of each provincial council is introduced as Senate members for a period of four years and one from each district council for a period of three years.

The president names technocrats, two representatives from the disabled and impaired and two from the Kuchis as members of the Senate and the remaining one-third of members for a period of five years. Half of the president’s nominees  have to be women.

A person appointed as a member of the Meshrano Jirga will have to relinquish his membership of the respective council, and another person replaces him in accordance with the law.

After district council elections could not be held, the president introduced provincial council members to the Meshrano Jirga as appointed members of the house last year.

A statement from the Presidential Palace received by Pajhwok Afghan News said President Ghani introduced Haji Mahmod Khakrizwal as another member of the Meshrano Jirga to replace Sher Mohammad Akhunzada.

“Based on the 3rd paragraph of article 84 of the Constitution, Haji Mahmod Khakrizwal is approved as member of the Meshrano Jirga to replace Sher Mohammad Khunzada,”


Hits: 2



Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.


Download our mobile application to get the latest updates on your mobile phone. Read more