Don't you have an account with Pajhwok Afghan News?

Click here to subscribe.

Ezedyar, Siddiqui retain Meshrano Jirga slots

7 Mar 2018 - 12:02
7 Mar 2018 - 12:02

KABUL or Senate on Wednesday re-elected Mohammad Alam Ezedyar as first deputy chairman and Mohammad Asif Siddiqui as second deputy in the upper house administrative board’s elections.

After one and a half months winter recess, President Ashraf Ghani on Wednesday inaugurated the parliament, entering its eighth constitutional year of 16th legislative term.

After the inauguration ceremony, the upper house held its administrative board elections, choosing Ezedyar as the first deputy chairman.

Mohammad Asif Seddiqui was elected as the second deputy chairman and Taib Atta as secretary.

Seddiqui and Latif Zhwandi vied for the second deputy speaker slot  while Abdullah Qarlaq and Taib Atta for the secretary and Faisal Samay and Gulalai Akbari contested the deputy secretary position.

However, Qarlaq and Akbari withdrew their nomination for the first deputy chairman slot and as a result, Ezedyar was elected. Samay was elected as deputy secretary of the house without a voting process.

Seddiqui secured 48 votes from the 65 senators present at today’s session and was elected as second deputy chairman while his rival nominee, Latif Jawandai, secured only 12 votes.

The same individuals were elected in the seventh constitutional year of 16 legislative term.

The Wolesi Jirga or lower house of parliament is also expected to hold its administration board elections.

The leaders of the two houses of the parliament are elected for one legislative term. Wolesi Jirga speaker is Abdur Rahim Ibrahimi and Meshrano Jirga chairman is Fazal Hadi Muslimyar.

The article 84 of the constitution says, “Members of the Meshrano Jirga  shall be appointed from amongst each provincial council members, one individual shall be elected by the respective council for a four year term; from amongst district councils of each province, one individual, elected by the respective councils, for a three year term”

“The remaining one thirds of the members shall be appointed by the President for a five year term, from amongst experts and experienced personalities, including two members from amongst the impaired and handicapped, as well as two from nomads,” the article says.

Based on the Constitution, the office term of Muslimyar and the upper house’s selected members had ended in 2015. The office term of the current Wolesi Jirga members had also ended in 2016.

But the president through a legislative decree extended the mandate the two houses until the next parliament and district council elections are held.


Hits: 1

Related Topics



Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.


Download our mobile application to get the latest updates on your mobile phone. Read more