Don't you have an account with Pajhwok Afghan News?

Click here to subscribe.

ACB names squad for one-off debut Test against India

30 May 2018 - 06:11
30 May 2018 - 06:11

KABUL (Pajhwok): Spin prodigy Rashid Khan is among Afghan spinners for their debut Test match against India in Bengaluru, the cricket board announced on Tuesday.

In a 16-member squad captained by Asghar Stanikzai, the Afghanistan Cricket Board picked Khan and three other spinners — Mujeeb ur Rahman, Zahir Khan and Hamza Hotak.

The one-off Test in Bangalore will commence from June 14, days after Khan won encomium from cricket greats as he grabbed 21 wickets for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League.

At least two players in the team are uncapped in any format. Seasoned all-rounder Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman were expected picks.

Zahir Khan – the left-arm wrist-spinner who is yet to play internationally – and Amir Hamza, the left-arm spinner with the experience of 31 ODIs and the same number of T20Is are part of the line-up.

Wafadar, the 18-year-old paceman who has played only three first-class matches, is another uncapped player. Ajinkya Rahane will be India’s skipper in the absence of Virat Kohli.

The five-day game will be preceded by three Twenty20 internationals against Bangladesh. The T20s are scheduled in the Indian city of Dehradun for June 3, 5 and 7.

The Test team includes Asghar Stanikzai (capt), Mohammad Shahzad, Javed Ahmadi, Ihsanullah Jannat, Rahmat Shah, Nasir Jamal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Zahir Khan, Hamza Hotak, Syed Ahmad Sherzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar Momand, Mujeeb ur Rahman

T20s squad:

Asghar Stanikzai, Mohammad Shahzad, Najeebullah Tarakai, Usman Ghani, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Darwish Rasooli, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Jannat, Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Shapoor Zadran, Aftab Alam.


Hits: 0

Related Topics



Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.


Download our mobile application to get the latest updates on your mobile phone. Read more